Access-A-Hut's Blog

December 4, 2011

Even shopping is an adventure

Filed under: Uncategorized — by accessahut @ 1:53 am

Well, this is an adventure times two–one, I am in a totally different environment and have not the time nor the spirit to explore much.  Two, I can not walk very far at any rate.  When I travelled and explored before, I thought nothing of long (albeit painful) walks to anywhere.  Now I begrudge every step–it is as if each step before cost me a penny and now each step costs five dollars.  But I finally did get to the grocery store–it is only a 4 block walk away from here.

I then had to haul my walker up to cart.  Because I don’t know my way around a store, it took a long time to find things.  By the time I was 3/4 done, my knees gave out entirely–both of them.  I could not take another step.  And the walker I have is not as easy or convenient as my wheelchair.  (I chose not to take the chair because it is impossible to fit into most vehicles, and I knew I would have major difficulties in the road as there are few sidewalks.)  So I just sat in the middle of the store and tears rolled silently down my face.

A clerk came up to me and said, “oh, don’t cry.”  I told her what was wrong, and she said, ok. They helped me with the final items I needed, and tried to call the number I had been given for a taxi. But the taxi would not come all the way out for such a short trip.  So the manager drove me back.  All’s well that ends well, I guess.

But I have not travelled overseas since I collapsed in 2004.  I was a bit afraid. Ok ok very very afraid.  And part of this trip is to PROVE I can do it.  So, I wonder. Is this adventure proof I can or proof I can not–as I must depend on the kindness of strangers–and you know how I hate that!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

